Drifting Sun – Safe Asylum

Only in recent years has Drifting Sun resurfaced from their days in the 1990’s to bring us three albums in three years, ok, granted On the Rebound was a remixed and remastered album but still what this shows is that Drifting Sun were showing their intent. Their recent material Safe Asylum showcases their skills to the full extent of the progressive rock scene with aplomb. Firstly, this is no fly be the night album, we can assure you of that, this is money well spent, and I mean well spent! If you pick up the 10 track bonus version, you are in for a treat that is a lengthy amount of material, with some tracks hitting the heights of over 10 minutes, so this is not for the feint hearted.

Opening with the sublime ‘King of Hearts’, Safe Asylum takes progressive rock to a new level of sophistication and delight, bringing together a multitude of instruments in a blend of utter beauty. It is a full package, from the perfect background album to keep you relaxed and in a zone to also being an album that can take over the room with its intelligence and stunning quality. There is nothing Safe Asylum can’t do. The vocals of Peter Falconer and backing vocals really give a sensational haunting melody to the whole project. The acoustic guitar, blending with electric bass and piano as well as electric guitar is just something that can’t really be explained fully in words, it’s something to be experienced and it will wash away any negative aspects, it’s just a work of art, a thing of absolute clarity. As the tracks drift into existence one after another, it’s impossible to pick them apart from one another. This is perfection, influenced by the greats of the genre such as Jethro Tull, Mike Oldfield, Dream Theatre and even snippets of Rush and Genesis in there, it shows that their influences are the pedigree of the genre and it makes perfect sense why this would sit up there with those greats with ease.

Drifting Sun has given us something to savour, from the incredible ‘Gods’ to the haunting ‘The Hidden Truth’ and the magical ‘Alice’, each track is sacred in of themselves but create a gift to us listeners with the sheer perfection of the whole package. The traditional aspects of progressive rock are in abundance and rightly so, but there is more of a look at what is around the corner for prog. rock built in here, this is something that is clearly felt throughout and purposefully created. Drifting Sun could well be the pioneers of the future for progressive rock, thanks to the delights of Safe Asylum.

Aaron Emerson

Track Listing:

  1. King of Hearts
  2. The Hidden Truth
  3. Intruder
  4. Alice
  5. Wonderland
  6. Gods
  7. Desolation
  8. Retribution
  9. Emphasis (Bonus)
  10. Vagabond (Bonus)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *